New Jersey law prohibits the use of handheld devices while driving, whether it be for a phone call, texting or e-mailing. These activities distract drivers and create a danger not only to the driver himself but also to other motorists and pedestrians. Distracted driving in any form can be dangerous, however texting in particular requires visual, manual and cognitive attention, which makes it by far the most dangerous form of distracted driving. Bluetooth, speaker phone, headset and abstaining from using a cell phone while driving are all ways to be a safer, smarter driver.
New Jersey’s cellphone and texting laws are considered “primary” laws which means that an officer can pull you over for the offense without having to witness any other violation whether in Atlantic City, South Jersey, or anywhere else. The penalties for texting and driving in the first offense include a fine of $200-$400. The second offense fine increases to $400-$600. The third (or subsequent) offense includes a fine of $600-$800, three motor vehicle points on your license and a possible 90-day license suspension. These fines do not include any court costs that may be incurred. Experienced traffic lawyers may be able to help those who have been caught violating traffic laws such as texting and driving.
If an Accident Occurs:
If a pedestrian or another driver or passenger is injured or killed because of a distracted driver using a handheld cell phone, that driver could be charged with an indictable crime or felony by lawyers from https://www.mirandarightslawfirm.com/blog/criminal-record-expunged-california/. In the case of an injury, depending on the severity, you could face between 6-18 months in jail and up to a $10,000 fine. If there is a death, the driver could be charged with vehicular homicide, which involves between 5-10 years in jail and up to a $150,000 fine.
In addition to criminal penalties, a distracted driver who causes injury to another can be held liable in Civil court for the damage caused. This liability can include cost of medical treatment, pain and suffering, cost of future lost wages for the injured party, and much more. For this, you can consult a motorcycle accident lawyer for the next step you should take.
If you or a loved one is involved in an accident due to another driver’s use of a handheld device, you want to get in touch with a car accident attorney as you may be entitled to compensation. It is important that you understand your rights and secure the representation you deserve.
Get In touch below. Ask Any Question or Start a Free Quote
Get a Free Legal Consultation Today!
Or Call Now: (609) 407-1000
I understand and agree that submitting this form does not create an attorney-client relationship or agreement to provide legal services.
Want to learn more about our legal services? Consult with one of our workers' compensation or personal injury attorneys by contacting our lawyers or call (609) 407-1000 today. Our Attorneys proudly serve all of Southern New Jersey including the nearby areas of Northfield, Pleasantville, Galloway, Linwood, Atlantic City, as well as, Atlantic, Cape May, Camden, Cumberland and Ocean Counties and the greater Southern New Jersey region. We look forward to working with you!
Monday - Friday: 9am - 5pm
Weekends By Appointment Only
The information contained in this website is provided for informational purposes only and should not be construed as legal advice on any subject matter. Each case is unique and we encourage you to seek licensed legal advice to ensure all of your questions are answered. No recipients of content from this site, clients or otherwise, should act or refrain from acting on the basis of any content included in the site without seeking the appropriate legal or other professional advice based on the particular facts and circumstances at issue from an attorney licensed in the state of New Jersey.